Days 144 – 148: Don’t Get Me Started

Days 144- 148 S-366-LYDoG

Too Legit to QuitI know, I know … five whole days and not a single word.

I bet you thought I’d finally given up.

Nope! Not yet anyway …

So now I’ve got to tell you about five days of thankfulness. These past five days have had their ups and downs and, I have to be honest, and say that there may or may not have been some moments when gratitude was the furthest thing from my mind. I’m not sure why, exactly, but I have had the most difficult time recovering from this last semester of school. I’m not really sure what I expected. I certainly, however, did not plan on spending the majority of these last few days in bed. I thought for sure I would have bounced back sooner than that. I should have known better though. I put my “all” into school so I shouldn’t be surprised that my body is exacting its price in return.

I guess I’ve been feeling pretty grumpy about that, which again in all honesty, is probably what has caused this delay in posting my “gratefuls.” I’ll be the first to admit that, when feeling grumpy, gratitude is the last thing I want to focus on. In fact I will do my best to find more reasons to be miserable and actively dispute any notion of thankfulness when this kind of sullenness is present.

“Oh woe is me!”

But, today has been a good day so far and so, I am plumb out of reasons to avoid thanksgiving.

Day 1: This was Monday. Oh boy, Monday was tough. I did however speak to a good friend who left me feeling as though life wasn’t all that bad. I am so grateful for friends who are willing to abide my irritability and help me see above the clouds.

Day 2: Tuesday I decided to wake up at 5:30 in the morning to attend a yoga class. This class is hosted by a professional yogi who provides a free weekly session for us moms who can’t get away or can’t afford to go to a studio. I am so thankful for her kindness and willingness to serve. It was the perfect way to start the day.

Day 3: Wednesday, don’t even get me started. For whatever reason this body decided that it didn’t want to stay awake. I have thought and thought about something to be grateful for on that day. Mostly, I felt frustrated. I had so much to do and had so many plans that were literally slept away. (Pun intended, dang it!) It was down right annoying. So, for Wednesday I’m going to say that I’m thankful that my kids were in school and that I was able to succumb to the fatigue. *grumble, grumble*

Expect NothingDay 4: Thursday was an absolutely beautiful day. I pulled out my lawn chair and rested with my dog in my lap all afternoon. I am so thankful I was able to enjoy the sunshine. (If you’re reading carefully you might be laughing at me right now … hang on!) Isn’t it ironic how one day the need to give in to the exhaustion is a bother and yet, somehow my outlook on life had shifted just enough that the following day it felt like luxury. Hmmm, something to ponder further, I suppose.

 

Day 5: It is Friday. ‘Nough said!!

Stina

Leave a Reply

