Day 139: Homeostatically Speaking

Day 139 S-366-LYDoG

Dear Stress

Homeostasis (courtesy dictionary.com)

  1. “The tendency of a system, especially the physiological system of higher animals, to maintain internal stability, owing to the coordinated response of its parts to any situation or stimulus that would tend to disturb its normal condition or function.
  2. Psychology. a state of psychological equilibrium obtained when tension or a drive has been reduced or eliminated.

Well.

Well, phooey!

I’ve decided that homeostasis is highly overrated. Of course, I don’t mean my body temperature, that can stay relatively the same, for all I care. I mean, the homeostasis we are always trying to achieve both physically and mentally. I imagine that in perfect homeostaticicity (I love making up my own words!), there would be no stress, no reason to change or even move.

I say again … phooey!

I am thankful for reasons to change and grow. I may not always seem like I’m thankful about it, but I am. I truly am. Life would be too boring if I were stuck in equilibrium and stability. Just think what you’d be missing if you weren’t pushed to create change in your world every so often.

Oh, all right, fine. I suppose that there are some of you out there who are great at instigating sans outside influence. I, on the other hand, can be a bit of a stubborn mule so I need all of the prodding I can get.

Stina

Leave a Reply

