Day 96: How Smart Is Smart Anyway

Day 96 S-366-LYDoG:

Our world has some pretty crazy ideas about how to rate intelligence. If you think about it, there are a plethora of “smarts” that we should be supposedly be aspiring to.

Street Smarts

Book Smarts

Social Acumen

Common Sense

Intuition or listening to your gut (trust me, you don’t want to hear my guts)

I could go on but, I’m bored already. It feels like society hands you this unwritten handbook about what “smarts” are better than others and how smart, smart is etc …

Intelligence.jpgMy point is this. Who decided what is smart vs not? Who decided that one type of brilliance is better than another? I think this is silly because we all bring our own kind of savvy to the table and wouldn’t life be boring if we each brought the same thing? I personally think so. Of course mine is just one opinion and I think everyone’s opinion matters in the end. I don’t like the idea that we are right or wrong rather, I think we are intelligent according to our unique abilities and life experiences. I liken it to choosing plain vanilla ice-cream when you have a full Sundae Bar at your disposal. I feel like I would be missing out on some serious sprinkles if we all were the same kind of “smart.”

When I think of Sean and the type of intellectual abilities he has despite his differences, I am amazed! According to the world he is extremely intelligent, we’re talking high, high end of the IQ spectrum. His speech and language skills as well as his social skills, on the other hand, are compromised. Sadly, the world at large focuses on what he lacks instead of what he has. I find this very frustrating at times.

So, today this is my grateful … I am so thankful for Sean’s intelligence and his ability and willingness to learn. He brings a skill set to the table that is completely different from what you might typically expect but I find that it is wonderful and amazing in its own right.

Besides, who wants vanilla ice-cream when you have the option of sauntering up to the Sundae Bar and going to town. I’ll take sprinkles with that if you please!

Stina

 

Leave a Reply

