Day 93: We’re Blue

Day 93 S-366-LYDoG:

20140702_141400Today is “Light it Up Blue”day in honor of April being Autism Awareness month. As you know, if you’re familiar with my story, I have a son who is on the spectrum. He was officially diagnosed with Asperger’s when he was 4. I say “officially” because the medical community has since done away with the term “Asperger’s” and lumped that diagnosis under the autism umbrella. That doesn’t matter to me, what matters is that it means my son has had and will have some struggles in his life that make him different.

However …

I’ve said it before, different is just that, different. It isn’t better, it isn’t worse, it just is. There are things that he struggles with but, don’t we all? There are things that he excels at and again, don’t we all have strengths? My job, as his mother, is to teach him how to identify and tap into his strengths and help him learn to use those in a society that won’t understand him, for the most part.

So, in honor of Autism Awareness month, I’m going to spend the next 28 days listing all of the reasons I am thankful for Autism and, in turn, thankful for the opportunity to be this little man’s mom.

First and foremost, I am eternally grateful for him. I love him for who is right now, in this moment. I would love him if he changed, I would love him if he didn’t, I would love him no matter what. This is the ultimate change of heart you have when you become a parent. You learn that you may not always like being a parent but, you always love your children. Parenting is hard, especially when navigating some of the societal challenges that he encounters and yet, he makes every battle, every advocacy meeting, every pleading email, every doctor visit … all of it, he makes it all worth it.

Happy Autism Awareness Month, I “Light it Up Blue” do you?

Stina

Leave a Reply

