Day 91: A Literal Life Saver

Day 91 S-366-LYDoG:

I met the most lovely woman while at the doctor today. She was kind and considerate toward me, a perfect stranger, at a time when I truly needed it. She held my hand, she told me that what I was feeling was normal, she comforted me during a hard visit … She was my nurse.

Nurse.jpgI have been cared for by many, many nurses in my life. There are some really great ones, some that are really awful, and some that run the full spectrum in between. I’m grateful for my nurse today, her name is Monica. She reminded me of all of the very best men and women who have cared for me throughout the years. I’ve had nurses who didn’t want to give me the time of day and others that went the extra mile.

It got me thinking, though, about the hard job that they have. They meet stranger after stranger, day in and day out. They have to get, literally, up close and personal with people who may not always be kind in return. I am in awe of people who can carry out this work. My own sweet sister in law is a nurse and I have always admired her patience and kindness. If only we all might be a little more patient and kind with others, maybe this crazy world of ours might not be such a scary place.

I’m so grateful for my nurse, Monica. Although a perfect stranger, she was my friend today.

Stina

Leave a Reply

