Day 83: Knee Deep

Day 83 S-366-LYDoG:

Wow, I find myself knee deep in exams yet again; one on Friday and another on Monday. I thought I’d pop up for air to give today’s “grateful” and now that I’m up I’m not sure where to begin.

I have been having an overwhelming sense of gratitude for the lifestyle that I’m blessed with. I was very fortunate to be born into a socioeconomic group where I have never found myself wanting. After I married this wasn’t always the case and yet still I found that I was always blessed with what I needed. There is a difference, you know.

Here I am without income, going to school, and supporting two boys and I still find that I am blessed with more than I need. The abundance of it brings me to my knees, quite literally, with gratitude. I was explaining to my boys what the word “poverty” meant earlier this week. I will never forget the look on their faces as I explained that some children don’t have beds to sleep in, food to eat, clothes to wear or a roof over their heads. I showed them pictures of what I meant, children living in the street, eating crumbs off the dirt, drinking the same water as their beasts of burden … They were both moved to tears, I’d never seen them like that.

At first, I feared that they would have nightmares about it, that I’d exposed them to too much reality. Then I quickly came to the conclusion that the idea of too much reality when it comes to being aware of our blessed circumstances is silly. I agree, you shield your kids from certain things to help protect them until they are old enough to handle the harsh realities of this world and all of the pitfalls that await them. However, in this case I want them to truly understand on a visceral level how much we are blessed with on a daily basis. The fact that it had never before crossed their minds that such conditions even existed is proof enough that they needed this little awakening.

Hellen Keller Gratitude Quote.jpgI am so thankful for all that I have. While I find myself knee deep in studies tonight; I realize that I more than knee deep in blessings, especially when times get tough. I am truly, deeply thankful. I know I take it for granted all too often, something that I am working to correct. God is so good and when we feel we are being deprived it is usually because he has greater things in store for us. Rather than bemoaning all that I feel I lack, I want to be the kind of person who can find something to be grateful for, even in the most dire of life’s situations.

This is why I started this crazy blogging challenge. I want to be better, I want to reshape my character, I want to see the world from a different perspective. Wish me luck, you know how it is … easier said than done.

Stina

Leave a Reply

