Day 80: Shifting Focus

Day 80 S-366-LYDoG:

Freedom books flower moonI often worry too much over little things. The daily mire of life gets me down in the dumps more often than I’d like to admit. Sure, like anyone else I have bigger things on my plate but, it’s oddly not typically the big things that really get to me. Well, most of the time. I think what weighs me down most are the day to day worries, getting the kids to school, doing my homework, making sure I run my errands …

It is so easy to lose sight of what truly matters. I do it all the time.

Today was a wonderful Sabbath. As I heard from inspired church leaders, I started thinking about all of the wonderful blessings that I take for granted because I’m too caught up in the little things. So much of life is taken up by these daily struggles that I forget how important it is to take a step back and remember the big picture.

I am so thankful for these gentle reminders. Reminders that life is not about when the kids get to school, if my homework got done on time or if I’ve got everything from the store I need. Life is about the simple yet profound moments. Like today, when my sons smiled up at me during church and I could see the love in their eyes. Or, when I kneel in prayer and know that God knows me, loves me, and is always there to guide me. Life is too short to let the important things like these be overshadowed by the daily grind.

Today left me with the feeling that I need to shift my focus a tad and put as much energy into things that really matter as I do the things that don’t. Wish me luck; as always this seems easier said than done.

Stina

2 thoughts on “Day 80: Shifting Focus

  1. Good post. Good to “see” you again. πŸ™‚ I know we’re friends on Facebook, but I barely see any friends posts anymore with all the advertising and stuff. I finally wrote a blog post today for the first time in Forever! Spring is coming, change is in the air my amazing beautiful friend πŸ™‚ Love and soft hugs, Jessie

Leave a Reply

