Day 59: Setting Aside the Cares of the World

Day 59 S-366-LYDoG:

Happy Sabbath.jpg

Enter a caption

I have a test on Tuesday in my Physics class and I’m a little nervous about it. A long time ago I decided that I wouldn’t study on Sundays, wanting to honor my commitment to the Sabbath Day. It is so very tempting to rationalize some time for my studies when I have a test at the beginning of the week.

Never fear, I did not give in. I’m glad I held my ground, too, because I think I really needed today to recover from this last week.

I love Sundays. I know that this is probably a repeat “grateful” but, I’m sure you don’t mind.

Sundays are such a wonderful day to recharge my mental, emotional, and most importantly, my spiritual batteries. I try really hard to include my Heavenly Father in my daily life but the noise of that life can seem deafening at times.

Not on Sundays …

There is certainly something to be said for a day in which we leave our earthly cares behind and dedicate ourselves to rest and worship. That rest may include church, or dinner with relatives or friends, or serving someone in need. Sometimes after church and all that it entails I am so exhausted I can hardly keep my eyes open but, I’m exhausted in a peaceful, fulfilled sort of way.

I am so thankful that there is a day in which I can set aside the cares of my world and tune out the noise of life. As I give myself over to worship of my Lord and Savior on this special day, I find peace and joy, even in the most difficult of times.

May you have a blessed and happy week.

Stina

Leave a Reply

