Day 38: “Welcome, Welcome Sabbath Morning”

Day 38 S-366-LYDoG:

chapel

More Good Foundation via flickr.com

Each Sunday morning I wake up and think, “do I really have to go to church today?” It happens every single time. For some reason I dread going to church. I know, lightning may strike at any moment.

But wait!

Here is why this is so odd to me, because inevitably each and every Sunday after church, I say too myself, “wow, that was fantastic!”

I know, I’m weird. We’ve already established this …

I don’t know why this happens. I have a theory but it is going to make me sound nuts. Ah, what the heck, I’ll tell you anyway. I think it is Satan. I really, really do. I think each Sunday he knows just how much I’m going to benefit from church and even love and enjoy it, so he tries to convince me that I don’t want to go.

I’m so glad I don’t listen to him.

As usual, church was amazing today and I am so glad I went. I always feel much better about life afterward. I feel like I can tackle another week with renewed spiritual strength. It is wonderful to be able to set myself right with my Heavenly Father and see life from his point of view each week as I prepare for the coming onslaught of life.

What’s more, I’m ever so thankful that I live in a country where I can enjoy this simple yet profound religious freedom. There are some who awaken on the Sabbath and long to attend some kind of worship service and yet are unable to do so.

Thank you Father in Heaven for affording me the blessings of church attendance.

Stina

Leave a Reply

