Day 25: One Step Is Enough

Day 25 S-366-LYDoG:

Today was hard. There is no away around it. My doctor is always trying to remind me to be careful about overdoing it. What does that mean anyway? I’m a single mom, going to school and, let’s face it, I have no idea what “it” means. Do you?

What happens on those days when getting out of bed feels like overdoing it?

I don’t know.

If you were to ask me where my pain was on the “pain-scale” today I’d rate it at about an 11. Not quite scratching my eyes out yet, but darn close.

pain scale

Lupus Foundation of America

I face this week with trepidation. I have two tests this week, one in Multivariate Calculus, the other in Physics II. I’m also throwing a birthday party for my oldest as well as attending an IEP (Individual Education Plan) meeting for him at school.

 

Busy week and I start Monday morning in pain.

*SIGH*

I am, however, determined to be grateful for something today, even if it is small and insignificant to some. I am thankful that I only had to take one step at a time today. One step was all it took to get out of bed and that one step was all I needed to take the next and the next after that. I’m not going to sugar-coat it, today hurt like hell. But I am thankful that I was able to manage even that one small step. For some, even that wasn’t possible today.

One small step for Stina, one giant leap for Stina-kind.

Stina

Leave a Reply

