Day 20: “Prayer Is The Soul’s Sincere Desire”

Day 20 S-366-LYDoG:

There is nothing more beautiful than an answer to prayer.

There are many types of prayer in my opinion. I typically try to kneel before my Father in Heaven each morning and night. My morning prayers consist of pleading for help with my struggles and the care and concern I have for my children, family, and friends. My evening prayers used to be more of the same but, over the past several years I have made a concerted effort to offer thankfulness for my many blessings and then relate the details of my day without asking for anything in return. I see it as a time to connect with God as my Heavenly Father.

We also have family prayers each morning and night. The main focus of these prayers is to hopefully teach my boys about prayer and the power of it. There are also prayers that we pray in public with extended family and friends as we gather around the table for meals or in a chapel for worship.

The type of prayer that has been a blessing in my life today are those silent prayers you say in your heart as the day unfolds with its possibilities as well as its hardships. This morning, while waiting for my son during orchestra rehearsal, another sweet mother discovered that her car’s battery had died.

“No big deal”, said I! I had my brand new, never before used jumper cables at the ready. I will tell you that I have only done this once or twice thus far in my life and so I was a little unsure of how to proceed, especially when I popped my hood and my battery wasn’t anywhere in sight!

What?!? I don’t know where my battery is?

Apparently not …

Never fear, though. I soon found that my battery was merely covered by a nifty plastic shield which was removed easily enough. We successfully got her car started quickly after that and were congratulating ourselves when I let my hood drop … right on top of the battery cover.

Oh my! The battery cover was now wedged tightly under one side of the hood and the other appeared to be securely latched into place. And nothing would budge!

In short, we worked and worked until our fingers were numb, due to the hail storm that we’d been sitting in, attempting to release my hood again. Both my son and her daughter were now involved and I was beginning to feel a bit frazzled and wondered how I was going to get out of this predicament.

I said a quick prayer in my heart. Just a short plea to know what to do. In the next moment I knew exactly what needed to be done. There wasn’t a doubt in my mind as to how I was going to get the hood to come up. I put my weight down over the latch and then gingerly put my fingers back inside to push the release and up it came.

I can tell you that we had tried several similar maneuvers that were all unsuccessful up to that point. I know, without a doubt, that God heard my prayer and came to my rescue. How often he does that for me and I neglect to acknowledge it. I am ashamed to say that I may have just sighed in relief in the past, but this time I got the battery cover (thankfully unscathed) back on, closed my hood and sat in my car and prayed with my son.

It was a sweet reminder that I am a daughter of God and that he loves me. He loves me enough to take a few moments to answer my simple prayer. If he loves me enough to watch over me in that situation, how much more does he send his loving care when times are really dire, when life is truly difficult.

What a lovely reminder and a tender mercy. God is good!

Stina

Leave a Reply

