Day 9: I Need A Good Belly Laugh

Day 9 S-366-LYDoG: I’m thankful for laughter.

When I’m really feeling down and out I often think to myself, “When was the last time I had a really good belly laugh.” You know the kind, right? The kind of laugh that starts involuntarily. The kind triggered by humor so deep inside that it comes bubbling up and out until your eyes are wet and your stomach aches. The kind of laugh that leaves you so breathless you actually snort which only sets you off all over again.

The interesting thing about this kind of laughter is that it is seldom achieved alone. It isn’t all that funny to hear yourself snort but, when you or your friend snort? Forget it, the giggles start all over again. It isn’t funny when you laugh so hard you pee a little unless you’re with someone who has probably peed themselves too to share it with.

I love to laugh. Whoever said it was the best medicine was a genius! I couldn’t agree more. There is nothing that chases away the clouds and even the aches and pains as much as a good laugh. I think that laughter is one of God’s greatest gifts to humankind. God must have known that we would need some way to lighten the mood down here. You know he must have the best sense of humor.

What, you think he’s too stuffy for all that?

Dung BeetlesSeriously, think about it. I ask you to consider the dung beetle. This poor devil spends his entire life pushing poop around, and instinctively loves it.

I’m sorry, but anyone who can create a creature like that must have “the perfect” sense of humor.

Stina

 

Leave a Reply

